• 107 Great Russell Street, Bloomsbury, London, WC1B 3NA
Book a Table Sign Up

Reviews for Malabar Junction a South Indian Restaurant in Bloomsbury

To leave a review please login or join our free Gold Club.

Fabulous

Fabulous food, great staff! This place became my home away from home kitchen. Great choice on the menu and equally great taste! Staff very friendly and helpful. Even helped special requests for preparing food for baby. Thank you. Highly recommend this place!

Junaid Raja, Bloomsbury at Jul 9, 2018

excellent

Food was excellent, staff very attentive and the venue had a very pleasant anbience. I will certainly return asap and with additional guests to introduce them to this little oasis.

Tom Inglis, at Feb 22, 2018

Would definitely recommend

The service, food and restaurant were very good would definitely recommend.

Vaughan Reynolds, Barwell at Sep 18, 2017

excellent service

We travel into London regularly and always head for Malabar Junction for dinner. Finest Indian food we can find in the capital coupled with very comfortable surroundings and excellent service.

Robert Brewer, Basildon Essex at Sep 6, 2017

The ambience is great

The ambience is great, a feeling of spaciousness but mainly the food is wonderful. The Akari fish with a side of green bananas is a delight.

John Sears, london at Sep 6, 2017

will come back again

Always enjoyed the food and service, will come back again for sure!

Gunnar Jansson, at Sep 6, 2017

Excellent Indian Cuisine

Excellent Indian Cuisine. Warm and friendly staff.Congenial Atmosphere

Milroy De Silva, at Sep 6, 2017

Best Indian restaurant

Best Indian restaurant I've ever been to. Southern Indian cuisine has always been my favourite and Malabar Junction has really excelled at creating it. My only complaint is it's a bit far from where I live.

Ken Reece, Beaconsfield at Sep 6, 2017

It's all good

A great find in the middle of London. Step off the busy streets into a calm light airy cool room. Warm welcome from the friendly staff and quick service. Start with the basket of Indian breads. For me I always try the dosas. Really good and authentic. After that take your pick. It's all good. Being South Indian fish is a favourite but vegetarians have a cornucopia of delicious options. They look after you here whether you are dining solo or in group of 20. Nice spacious tables so you are not overheard.

Stephen Walker, Surrey at Sep 5, 2017

strongly recommend

Arguably one of the best cuisine (South Indian) and rather modestly priced Indian restaurant in London. I would strongly recommend this dining experience for both tourists and natives. SJ, London

SUSHRUT JADHAV, London at Sep 5, 2017

Food is great

Very nice setting. Great for a formal evening out. Food is great. Staff are very friendly. Excellent South Indian Menu.

Gunamtharum Rajappan, London at Sep 5, 2017

never been disappointed

We have been eating at Malabar Junction for a number of years and never been disappointed - a real taste of South India in attractive, relaxing surroundings, with friendly, attentive staff

Alan Cripps, London W7 at Sep 5, 2017

Highly recommended.

What a find! Super food, relaxed atmosphere, attentive staff and very good value (especially for London). Highly recommended.

pjmcc, hants at Feb 16, 2015

one of the very best

We arrived rather late for lunch, but received a warm welcome and had an absolutely excellent meal. This was one of the very best Indian restaurant experiences we have enjoyed in Britain.

Andrew Pearson, Hampshire at Jan 19, 2015

Highly recommended.

Came across this great restaurant whilst holidaying in the UK from OZ. Lovely decor, great service but most of all superb food! Malabar dosa was large and able to be shared between the two of us. Next up was the chicken dhansak, lovely and Kerala mutton curry, superb. This is the best southern Indian food we have had for years and is easily better than a number of Sydney and other UK Indian eateries! Highly recommended.

Mick & Alexis Wilson, Sydney Australia at Aug 1, 2013

Best Dosa in Central London

I have literally never had bad food here!!!

James, Soho at Mar 8, 2011

I can Recommend your Restaurant

Dear Manager, Just a quick note to thank you and your staff for the excellent food and warmth hospitality offered to my guests the other day.<br> They told me that at Malabar Junction they felt that they were 'home from home'.<br> In their view they have never had such authentic Kerala meal anywhere outside Kerala. Apparently they were specially impressed by the professionalism, courtesy and standard service which your staff treated them.<br> I really feel proud of you restaurant and I feel confident that in future I can recommend your restaurant to my visiting friends even if I am not free to escort them.

Dr Cyriac Maprayil, www.london-eating.co.uk at Sep 18, 2010

Fantastic Food

Fantastic food, very good quality, not standard recipes

Stephanie, www.london-eating.co.uk at Sep 18, 2010

Overall a Very Positive Memory

If you're in the West End and really want to find a walkable place that doesn't require going all the way down to the Circus, Malabar Junction is tasty, not expensive (though not cheap), and with generally attentive staff, although you need to flag someone down when ready to leave. The atmosphere is casual-elegant, an open room with large tables that seems receptive to bringing family, but just a little too nice for shorts and a t-shirt. The food merits high marks, and although really afficionados may find it unremarkable, my husband and I found it exceeded many Indian restaurants we have tried. The flavors are warm and lively, and I loved my Mutter Paneer. I recommend the house-recommended wines, which pair well with the food. Our waiter was funny, actually, jokingly cajoling us into dessert. Overall, a very positive memory.

ProfK, www.tripadvisor.com at Sep 18, 2010

Curries and Dishes are Very Good

The Malabar Junction is one of my favorits for Indian cuisine in London. The service is ok and quick and the curries and dishes are very good. Also it is centrally located for a break during shopping or a visit to the British Museum or before a show at the West End.<br> I have visited the place a couple of times now and food level was always good.

Uli Germany, www.tripadvisor.com at Sep 18, 2010

Quality Indian food

What a good find! Malabar serves traditional Indian food in a plush setting. Service is good and location is about 10 minutes walking distance from the Tottenham Court Road underground station. The menu is vast - they serve food that is akin to different parts of India. Visiting from the US, makes the portions look somewhat small. However, it's a welcome change if you appreciate food with spices.

WTEA, www.tripadvisor.com at Sep 18, 2010

Extensive menu and food quality was high

Visited on Friday evening with girlfriend and her friend. Extensive menu and food quality was high. Dosa starter is to be recommended and my chilli paneer was very good although it would have been better having more paneer rather than the onion/pepper "filler".<br><br> Main courses of fish/mango curry, lamb rogan josh and a veggie curry were very good and including beers the overall cost was very reasonable. Especially for London!<br><br> Waiting staff were good and we weren't hurried at any point. Would certainly visit again.

TucksBath, www.tripadvisor.com at Sep 18, 2010

Simply Delicious

The Fish Curry was simply delicious!

Anonymous, www.tripadvisor.com at Sep 18, 2010

They were Absolutely Delicious

Unusual, extremely tasty Indian Food. Excites the palate. Good Value.<br> This is very different to the usual Indian restaurants found in most U.K High Streets. The menu is full of food I have never tried before - Vellappam with Potato Malabar - Mutter Paneer -to name but 2. They were absolutely delicious. I shall definitely be back.

MittensMaidenhead, www.tripadvisor.com at Sep 18, 2010

Warmly flavored, reasonably priced

If you're in the West End and really want to find a walkable place that doesn't require going all the way down to the Circus, Malabar Junction is tasty, not expensive (though not cheap), and with generally attentive staff, although you need to flag someone down when ready to leave. The atmosphere is casual-elegant, an open room with large tables that seems receptive to bringing family, but just a little too nice for shorts and a t-shirt. The food merits high marks, and although really afficionados may find it unremarkable, my husband and I found it exceeded many Indian restaurants we have tried. The flavors are warm and lively, and I loved my Mutter Paneer. I recommend the house-recommended wines, which pair well with the food. Our waiter was funny, actually, jokingly cajoling us into dessert. Overall, a very positive memory.

ProfK, www.tripadvisor.com at Sep 18, 2010

Great Indian Food

I was visiting from the US. I haven't eaten such authentic Kerala food. Service is excellent. Got to try the fish curry. Keep it up.

Sam, www.restaurant-guide.com at Sep 18, 2010

Excellent Dining Experience

The usual excellent dining experience at Malabar junction. Portions were huge - couldn't do them justice this time - all our own fault for having starters as well as mains and side dishes. Wife had a lovely creamy ice cream to finish and I had mango kulfi, although it was not publicised on the menu. House wine fruity and easy to drink with the curries. Will be revisiting in the Autumn on next trip to London. Restaurant very quiet this weekend, no doubt owing to World Cup football taking place.

Anonymous, www.opentable.com at Sep 18, 2010

You'll be Very Satisfied

Although this place had mixed reviews we decided to give it a chance since we'd heard London has great indian food. We were very please with everything we had. The mango curry fish dish was especially delicious and nan is always a must. The lamb biryani may have been a tad dry, but was well spiced and delicious. The atmosphere leaves a bit to desire, but it was bright and clean. There was plenty of food and very helpful staff. I think if you stick to the recommendations you'll be very satisfied.

Anonymous, www.opentable.com at Sep 18, 2010

Restaurant has High Level Service

We do like this restraunt( Malabar Junction). Actually the president of my company prefers to go to Malabar Junction, because mainly he likes Indian cuisine and feels suitable regarding amount of food and price as well. I think so too. The waiters are very kind to explain the menu for us. Overall, I think this restaurant has high level service.

Anonymous, www.opentable.com at Sep 18, 2010

This is a fantastic restaurant

The food is freshly cooked and delicious, and the staff are thoughtful, courteous and helpful. A great find.

Anonymous, www.opentable.com at Sep 18, 2010

Food is Great, Service Very Good

A delightful surprise in an area that is otherwise not rich in nice restaurants. The food is great, service very good, and prices very reasonable. We'd recommend this to anyone in the Bloomsbury/British Museum area!

Anonymous, www.opentable.com at Sep 18, 2010